My poems

I’m going to post some poems here that I wrote. Some have been published, others not. My poems are often mystical, spiritual, uncertain. I believe very strongly that poetry is an art of the spoken word, so poems should be read aloud (if only in the head) and the sound of words is important. Listen to this from Gerard Manley Hopkins:

She drove in the dark to leeward

She struck not a reef or a rock

But the combes of a smother of sand. Night drew her

Dead to the Kentish Knock.

Please do comment. If you ask questions, either by posting here or by e-mail, I’ll do my best to reply.

Let’s push the boat off.

All poems and all commentary here are copyright of Simon Banks 2011-2.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

