Founder

The first humans come to an unknown land and those early days are remembered in myth…

 

FOUNDER

 

I have set my foot in the wet sand

And seen the alien trees, the dangerous berries

Of a new land

 

It cannot speak before I name it

It is asleep before I claim it

 

I give a name to this unwary bird

Before I kill it and I tread a track

So as to become a road that traders travel;

Where I have hacked a space inside the thicket

Will be a city, I can hear the talk

Like pebbles clashing in the shifting stream

Not song nor scream

 

What I have not named, in the lurking forests

Will die until its bones are resurrected

Leaving its shadow over fruitful fields

Rotting the yields.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Simon, this rocks! I like “dangerous berries”, and the line “pebbles clashing in the shifting stream–not song nor scream”. Very good stuff. Wishing you a Happy New Year, and looking forward to sharing our work back and forth! By the way, I loved your note about “duty free” emailing!!!!

    Reply
    • Thanks, Caddo, and the same to you. I hope the new year will be wonderful.

      Were you not aware that some commercial flights now carry nothing but e-mails? What is more, that all computer viruses originate from a top-secret shipment of e-mails that crashed in the mountains of South-eastern Poland in 2003?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

