Impressions

 

By the slow-flowing river running full

I saw a soldier slump and slide

By the old ruined farmhouse wall

I smelt the smell of burning oil

 

If I have trouble to tell a dream

And dreams invade the dreamless land

Nothing is quite what it once seemed

The water wavers, soil is sand.

 

Here’s an example of the recurring images I talked about a little while ago. In fact, it’s not just an image but a phrase: “Dreams invade the dreamless land”. It came to me, I included it in a poem, then another poem – I just felt I hadn’t fully worked out the riches of the words.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Caddo Veil

     /  January 24, 2012

    Yep, I like the way you do things. So, now I can freely repeat myself, if I’m in love with a particular phrase?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

