Disenchantment

 

The world is disenchanted

We have walked in the dark places

And found no ghosts or elves

No dragons roam the forests

The real fearsome beasts

Of the forest we have shot

And made a diagram of their bodily systems.

 

But now the sabre-toothed beasts from the forest myths

The giant wings, the parallel cunning people

With their invisible cities and hidden spells

Are coursing through the streets of the flooded city.

 

Come with me to the sea.

We know the source of its power, waves and tides

There’s not a grain of sand disturbed

By the last thrash of the wave

I cannot analyse;

I can tell when a star will disappear.

 

Hunting elusive messengers in your mind

You may find useful this neat chart

We can identify

The electromagnetic impulses for love or hate

We’ve come a long way, you and I

Perhaps it is too late

To search back for some thing we have forgotten.

 

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Caddo Veil

     /  February 15, 2012

    I like it, Simon!

    Reply
    • Thanks, Caddo. An unusual interpretation of “disenchanted”, but what DO you call it when enchantment has been removed?

      Reply
  2. It was just when the feeling of disenchantment- something akin to standing facing a brick wall- struck me that I read this!

    Reply
  3. ladybluerose

     /  February 16, 2012

    I have Believed in the magick of the unseen all my life..
    this past week I have not..
    your words here descibed my thoughts…
    I am glad I stumbled in here today…
    I enjoyed your thoughts..
    Thank you for sharing

    )0(
    BlessedBe
    maryrose

    Reply

Leave a Reply

