We will not meet again, my love

Sometimes I like to write in ballad style. This is one such.

WE WILL NOT MEET AGAIN, MY LOVE

We will not meet again, my love,

Till all the seas run dry

You will not be alone, my love

If only you should cry.

The woods have grown high, my love,

I cannot see the hill

Where you and I did part, my love

To find an unknown ill.

The forests have all fallen, love,

The seas have come to death,

But I have grown hard, my love,

And cannot feel your breath.

 

copyright Simon Banks 2012

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. So beautiful Simon….I read this while I was traveling and it is the sort of the poem that feels wonderful while you are on the move…..

    Reply
    • Thanks, neel. Just picked this up on return from holiday – and the break did help me to write some poetry, as I’d been rather tied up in the present. This poem draws heavily on the English/Scottish ballad tradition – worth exploring if you’re not familiar with it, for example: Cold blows the wind on my true love/ And a few small drops of rain/ I never knew but one true love/ And in greenwood he was slain.”

      Reply
  2. This is really beautiful. It has a timeless feel to it.

    Reply
    • Thanks, Naomi. I love the ballads of late medieval to 17th century England and Scotland and this deliberately imitates them, except “imitate” maybe isn’t the right word. I became a balladeer.

      Simon

      Reply
  3. Is there any way I can email you Simon……part of a project I’m doing….

    Reply
  4. LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words

     /  June 19, 2012

    I like this one…
    )0(
    maryrose

    Reply

Leave a Reply

