Journeyman

JOURNEYMAN

 

Some day the rain shall tell me I should leave

Or the shortening days set off a bell

Quiet at first, insidious in the blood

So I will pack

Searching the sky for clues

The distant shimmer and blur that might be rain

Glance at the house

And set out by a route that gradually

Creates itself but will not turn on itself

Though I don’t know the city at the end.

 

I am a journeyman, I learn my trade

From hints and shallow inscriptions on low stones

And from the linking of the bones.

 

I am used to wandering

I travel light, I know the signs

The questioning cat, the blackened oak

The broken bridge, the river in spate

The posts turned round, the embered fire

Light in the sky and razor wire.

 

And so the stages wait, or maybe indifferent

I mark them with my feet for a few minutes

But swimming with a river in the mind

I grope and stumble, being alive and blind.

 

 

A journeyman was an apprentice craftsman who travelled from place to place working with established craftsmen.

 

copyright Simon Banks 2012

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words

     /  July 4, 2012

    I like the thought of a journeyman watching for the signs…
    the journeyman is an apprentice of so many crafts
    I like that I can see more in his wanderings to the next town
    Take Care…
    )0(
    maryrose

    Reply

Leave a Reply

