Outward Bound

A bit of a mystical poem now, but sparked to some extent by Harwich quay and by seeing a dead gull floating in the estuary not far from there.

 

OUTWARD BOUND

 

Only one vessel, outward bound,

You need not change your course.

The dead gull goes round and round,

Looking for the source.

 

The waves are broken on the wall

The angular land is blind

No salt invades the marbled hall

Nor sails in the mind.

 

The sun is shining as it shone

But the words you talk

Are bronze untaught, of Eden gone

And a broken hawk.

 

Only one vessel, outward bound,

Turning of the tide,

The unknown sea is lost and found,

The rolling sky is wide.

 

 

Copyright Simon Banks 2012

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words

     /  July 15, 2012

    mystical is the course…
    of course
    I like this Simon…
    )0(

    Reply
    • Thanks, ladybluerose. Mind you, I now can’t work out what I meant by “bronze untaught”. It meant something at the time…

      Reply
      • LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words

         /  July 15, 2012

        I took it as the bronze age over took Eden’s pureness of the silver light of the moon…
        but then my way of thinking about Eden is probably not what most people think …
        not sure why, but that was how I saw it…
        I liked it ……felt very mystical within the mist so to speak

      • Thanks. Maybe some time I’ll remember what I had in mind there. By the way, I just realised “sails” as in “Nor sails in the mind” can be either a plural noun or a verb. I meant it as a noun, but I suppose it can work here as a verb: the salt…sails in the mind, though I’d rather it was seen as a noun.

Leave a Reply

