The Master of the Atmosphere

Normal
0

false
false
false

EN-GB
X-NONE
X-NONE

/* Style Definitions */
table.MsoNormalTable
{mso-style-name:”Table Normal”;
mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0;
mso-tstyle-colband-size:0;
mso-style-noshow:yes;
mso-style-priority:99;
mso-style-qformat:yes;
mso-style-parent:””;
mso-padding-alt:0cm 5.4pt 0cm 5.4pt;
mso-para-margin:0cm;
mso-para-margin-bottom:.0001pt;
mso-pagination:widow-orphan;
font-size:11.0pt;
font-family:”Calibri”,”sans-serif”;
mso-ascii-font-family:Calibri;
mso-ascii-theme-font:minor-latin;
mso-fareast-font-family:”Times New Roman”;
mso-fareast-theme-font:minor-fareast;
mso-hansi-font-family:Calibri;
mso-hansi-theme-font:minor-latin;
mso-bidi-font-family:”Times New Roman”;
mso-bidi-theme-font:minor-bidi;}

You may recognise some phrases in this poem that are shared with “We have Changed War”. I suppose it’s taking the ominous irony of that poem a bit further to imagine (or how far is it real?) a power that pretends to the reach and rectitude of God. Is that power external, or do we participate in it? Is it the limitless power of Man (humankind) and should Man’s power be unlimited?

Some phrases are borrowed from religious, especially biblical, sources – for example, “there will be no more sea”.

THE MASTER OF THE ATMOSPHERE

 

I am the master of the atmosphere

Here in a glass case

Is the stuffed falcon that rivalled me.

I plan the growing of the trees.

 

I can tell you what you will want to buy

I can enslave the free and tell them why they’re happy

I am the ever-watching beacon.

 

When I have tidied up the awkward interface

Between the land and sea, an inconvenient place

There will be no more sea but what I make to flow

Truth is what I make it. I make history.

 

If out beyond the reaches of the last gaseous particles

Another law, another pattern rules, another right

We’ll soon change that. This is the longest day

But after day comes night.

Copyright Simon Banks 2013

 

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. I can enslave the free and tell them why they are happy… Had to read twice. Excellent writing as always!

    Reply
  2. LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words

     /  April 25, 2013

    thought provoking….
    “Truth is what I make it. I make history.”
    this line still stops my thoughts ….ego, arrogance…or just
    simply truth…..
    I like your thoughts here….

    and i like Andrew Marvell…as you seem to know I would..
    I have been wondering slowly….Thank you ….
    Take Care…
    )0(
    just me

    Reply
    • It’s often said that the victors make history – but truth has a way of seeping back again.

      Marvell is an interesting phenomenon. In his life he was little known as a poet, though much as a scholar and in later life, a politician and political publicist. He was (re)discovered in the 19th century, but even forty years ago, his reputation was not as high as it is now. Something about him seems to suit the age.

      Reply
  3. Wow! I love the use of “awkward interface” and so many other terms here.. Excellence.

    Reply
    • Thanks, Christy. It’s meant ironically, of course, to reveal the authoritarian neatness of the Master’s mind.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

