An unseasonal poem

Image

Well, the whole New Year mythology pretty much leaves me cold: 1st January 2014 is the day after 31st December 2013 and the next day is 2nd January 2014. By the way, most computers seem to try very hard to impose the American date system, which is bafflingly illogical: a date consisting of day, month, year is a combination of three measurements of which the day is the most specific and the year the most general, so there are two logical ways of presenting it – day, month, year or year, month, day. We Brits do it the first way. Americans set it out as month, day, year – a bit like an address going Bristol Road, 97, Gloucester.

That rant over – on to the next one. Supermarkets have many advantages, but the busy crowds and the noise (including tinny music too loud) make me want to get out of most of them as soon as possible. Over the Christmas period the music is dominated by a few Christmas songs we’ve been hearing dozens of times in a few days and in the rare event the song seemed good to start with, it sounds horribly trite the twelfth time. It’s interrupted by an announcement that starts by wishing shoppers a happy/merry Christmas before immediately suggesting they buy a lot of stuff on special offer. I suspect I’m not the only one to mouth something not very polite – not because I lack a positive attitude towards Jesus Christ, pagan midwinter festivals, wine, whisky and Christmas pudding (this ignorant spellcheck objects to WHISKY, which is the only correct spelling for the Scottish or Welsh stuff, and wants to change it to whiskey, fine if I was talking about the Irish drink) but because I sniff an intention of equating happiness and goodwill with buying their products, specifically the ones they’d hoped to shift days earlier.

So – am I a Scrooge? Judge for yourself (but the final decision is mine: after all, I take full responsibility for myself).

MERRY CHRISTMAS

Merry Christmas, shoppers!

As usual there are brilliant special offers

Why not try…

Why not cry

The tinny music’s loud enough to drown, don’t fear,

An inconvenient noise amid Christmas cheer.

Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. Miranda Stone

     /  December 29, 2013

    I like your poem. And nope, I don’t think you’re a Scrooge at all. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  2. I feel the same about musak… and I also object to the bossiness of the spell-check !!!

    Reply
    • I suppose it’s educational: I’d never have realised otherwise that modern Americans thought “anymore” was one word. What amazes me is the system’s inability to cope with anything more than Year 2 Primary School grammar, querying correct forms and suggesting something that, if you look a few words on, is clearly plain wrong. I can’t recall examples right now, but maybe I should collect them.

      Reply
  3. LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words

     /  December 30, 2013

    I will agree, as each year I start earlier ignoring the commercial blizt and muzak ….
    and I like your poem….
    Hope you otherwise are doing well in your part of the world….
    Take Care…You Matter…
    )0(
    maryrose

    Reply
    • Thanks, Mary! Yes, things are fine. There are Christmas traditions I value, but I have a sharp nose for people trying to sell things. Same outside the commercial field to some extent. Some people have oodles of charm (not quite the same as charisma and definitely not the same as warmth). It seems to me people with lots of charm nearly always take the easy route of using it to manipulate people – so as soon as I identify charm, I’m on guard!

      Reply
  4. This is a cute little poem πŸ™‚ I like it. I agree to your thoughts too ! Have a happy new year πŸ™‚ xx

    Reply
  5. LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words

     /  December 30, 2013

    I have that sense as well, though I have been fooled
    which didn’t set well within me, but lesson learned
    now days I smile at the charmers and say “that’s nice” and leave it at that…I don’t understand the need to manipulate…I have too much chaos of my own to re-arrange someone else life for them
    I hope you have a good week…
    Take Care…You Matter…
    )0(

    Reply

Leave a Reply

