I Reject

broken-chain-1024x768

 

I REJECT

 

24 June 2016

 

I reject you, my country.

You who used to be my country, I divorce you.

You have become mean and full of hate

You look over your shoulder for immigrants

And complain even where there are none.

You have no vision for the world

You have no love for the world

No knowledge of other worlds

Resentment is your life.

 

Don’t worry. I’ll still pay my taxes and vote.

We have a business arrangement. In return

You care for me disdainfully if I’m ill

You send a policeman if I’m burgled

And sometimes clean the street. There’s no need

To revise the social contract. But you are not mine.

I know you.

 

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. This makes me sad

    Reply
  2. My anger will stay but the feeling of a break may not. Anger is not always wrong or destructive. Where I sense evil, I will do what I can.

    Reply
  3. You will continue on.. Were you surprised by the final Brexit vote, Simon?

    Reply
  4. Not really. I was involved in REMAIN campaigning, but frustrated that neither the non-party campaign nor my own party’s (Liberal Democrats) were getting some important things right – and the Labour campaign was pathetic. Someone asked me on the day what I thought would happen. I said very close, but if I had to pick, I thought it would go to LEAVE. OK, I suppose I was thinking of about 50.5%, not 51.9%. Of course some LEAVE campaigners were honourable, but some very nasty anti-foreigner stuff was churned up and people going on about the last war – as if Poles, Czechs, French and others didn’t do a huge amount to defeat Fascism (look up 303 Squadron, RAF). Plus of course Canadians, Americans, Indians, Australians, New Zealanders, but apart from Indians, all those are nice people in the eyes of many anti-foreigners.

    Reply
  5. A good way to express your anger.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

